Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Making the Man: The Trends of Men's Fashion of San Francisco

Lindsay Brown of San Francisco

 Photography by Alex Farnum and Kenji Aoki 

There’s something happening to the way San Francisco men dress—whether they’re ordering an Old Pal at Comstock Saloon, standing in line at Tartine Bakery, or stalking the halls of FiDi. Layers of tailored shirts, cashmere, and waxy canvas jackets rule, as do gold-rimmed watches, slim pants that pop with color, and rich brown leather boots with thick rubber soles that recall the turn of 20th-century America. It’s a modern interpretation of something entirely nostalgic—a look that’s equal parts dandy, lumberjack, grown-up hipster, and haberdasher. Which is exactly how 7x7’s art director, Nicholas Brawley, walks into the office every day. Inspired by his style, we roped our shy colleague and two other local guys into modeling three ways to wear the look. We give you the SF man’s style manual for work, weekend, and wherever the night might take you.

WHO (pictured above): Lindsay Brown, 27
WHAT: French horn player, SF Symphony and Magik*Magik Orchestra
WANTS: Diesel jeans, Tommy Hilfiger slim-fit tuxedo, Zara graphic T-shirts, and leather jackets
WEARS: Isaia cashmere sportcoat ($3,795) at Saks Fifth Avenue Men’s Store, saksfifthavenue.com; RRL indigo henley ($185) at Ralph Lauren, ralphlauren.com; Swift copper indigo jeans ($128) at Taylor Stitch, taylorstitch.com; Tanner Goods belt ($88) at Welcome Stranger, welcomestranger.com; Zig Zag shoes ($21) at Mollusk Surf Shop, mollusksurfshop.com; Martin Margiela bag, stylist’s own; watch, Nicholas Brawley’s own.;

Nicholas Brawley of 7x7 Magazine

WHO: Nicholas Brawley, 33
WHAT: Art Director, 7x7
WANTS: Chester Wallace bags, J. Crew sweaters, chinos from Revolver, button-up shirts from Unionmade, jeans from Nomads, and jackets from Welcome Stranger
WEARS: Ventile parka ($482) at Freemans Sporting Club, freemanssporting club.com; J. Crew red chambray shirt ($98), jcrew.com; Riviera Club chino ($192) at Welcome Stranger, welcomestranger.com; Jay Carroll Levi’s boot ($389) at Al’s Attire, alsattire.com; vintage watch ($225) at Steven Alan, stevenalan.com; Plaid shirt and Swiss Army vintage knapsack, stylist’s own.

Darius Himes

WHO: Darius Himes, 41
WHAT: Assistant director, Fraenkel Gallery
WANTS: Gray suits, Uniqlo ties and blazers, anything Massimo Dutti, Muji, and Paul Smith
WEARS: Freemans Sporting Club navy mohair three-piece suit ($2,490, pants not pictured) and Winchester trouser in rust ($191), freemanssportingclub.com; J. Crew chambray shirt ($98), jcrew.com; Steven Alan tie ($106) and vintage watch ($785), stevenalan.com; Allen Edmonds long wing-tip shoe ($445), allenedmonds.com

[ WORK ]
Bloomingdale’s plaid tie ($65), bloomingdales.com; Smythson zip iPad2 case ($500), smythson.com; Tiffany & Co. sterling silver Century flask ($795), tiffany.com; Vers Audio slimcase for iPhone 4/4S ($40), versaudio.com; Victorinox Swiss Army 4GB slim USB flash drive ($46), swissarmy.com

[ WEEKEND ]
Burberry Prorsum basket weave Music bag ($1,295), burberry.com; Jonathan Adler playing cards ($78), jonathanadler.com; Urban Outfitters natural straw fedora ($29), urbanoutfitters.com; Ray Ban Classic Clubmaster sunglasses ($145) at Bloomingdale’s, bloomingdales.com; Renzo Romagnoli domino set in acrylic case ($250) at Barneys New York, barneys.com; Victorinox Swiss Army Chrono Classic watch ($595), swissarmy.com

[ WHEREVER]
Ralph Lauren Black Label navy tie ($145) at Bloomingdale’s NY, bloomingdales.com; Ralph Lauren Black Label pocket square ($85) at Bloomingdale’s SF, bloomingdales.com; Kenton Sorenson Modern Man front pocket wallet ($90), kentonsorenson.com; Eau de Lacoste L.12.12 Rouge ($62) at Lacoste, lacoste.com; The Art of Shaving pure badger brush in ivory ($55) and unscented shaving soap with wood bowl ($45), theartofshaving.com; Andrew McAteer belt ($165) at Freemans Sporting Club, freemanssportingclub.com.