Lazy Bear, The Progress Named 2015 James Beard Award Semifinalists


Congratulations to all our Bay Area James Beard Award 2015 semifinalists! You'll see some familiar names and some new names. The final nonimees will be announced next month, and the awards will take place on May 4 in Chicago. Until then, check out which locals made the first cut.

Best New Restaurant

The Progress, San Francisco

Lazy Bear, San Francisco


Outstanding Baker

Belinda Leong and Michel Suas, B. Patisserie, San Francisco

Edmund and Kathleen Weber, Della Fattoria, Petaluma, CA
William Werner, Craftsman and Wolves, San Francisco


Outstanding Bar Program

Bar Agricole, San Francisco

Trick Dog, San Francisco


Outstanding Chef

Traci Des Jardins, Jardinière, San Francisco

Nancy Oakes, Boulevard, San Francisco

Michael Tusk, Quince, San Francisco


Outstanding Pastry Chef

Bill Corbett, Absinthe Group, San Francisco

Ron Mendoza, Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel, Carmel, CA


Outstanding Restaurant

Acquerello, San Francisco

Greens, San Francisco

Restaurant Gary Danko, San Francisco


Outstanding Restaurateur

Umberto Gibin, San Francisco (Perbacco and Barbacco) 

Michael Mina, Mina Restaurants, San Francisco

Cindy Pawlcyn, Napa, CA (Mustards Grill and Cindy's Back Street Kitchen)


Outstanding Service

Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel, Carmel, CA

Perbacco, San Francisco

Quince, San Francisco

Saison, San Francisco


Outstanding Wine Program

A16, San Francisco

Casanova, Carmel, CA

Press, St. Helena, CA

La Toque, Napa, CA


Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional

Jon Gasparini and Greg Lindgren, Rye on the Road, San Francisco

Ted Lemon, Littorai Wines, Sebastopol, CA

Steve Matthiasson, Matthiasson Wines, Napa, CA

Rajat Parr, Mina Group, San Francisco


Rising Star of the Year

Jessica Largey, Manresa, Los Gatos, CA

Jeremy Wayne, La Folie, San Francisco


Best Chef: West

Matthew Accarrino, SPQR, San Francisco

Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski, State Bird Provisions, San Francisco

Dominique Crenn, Atelier Crenn, San Francisco

Tyler Florence, Wayfare Tavern, San Francisco

Mourad Lahlou, Aziza, San Francisco

Corey Lee, Benu, San Francisco

Russell Moore, Camino, Oakland, CA

Jennifer Puccio, Marlowe, San Francisco

Joshua Skenes, Saison, San Francisco

To view the entire roster of the 2015 semifinalists, go here.

Related Articles
Most Popular
From Our Partners