Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

The Best Of SF 2010: 87 Reasons Why We Love This City

Each June, we rediscover our town. Now it's your turn.

 

Best of Eat + Drink

Full descriptions of our Eat + Drink picks here.

1. $1 an ounce wine at Frances (frances-sf.com)
2. Cocktails downstairs at the Hideout
2. Home baked bread from Outerlands (outerlandssf.com)
3. The Smuggler's Cove Rumbustion Society (smugglerscovesf.com)
4. Empanadas at El Porteno (elportenosf.com)
5. Subs at The Sandwich Spot (thesandwichspot.com)
6. The First Korean Market
7. The buns at Sandbox Bakery (sandboxbakerysf.com)
8. Wine classes at the San Francisco Wine Center (indiewine.com)
9. Mangalistas (The Wooly Pig) (woolypigs.com)
10. Lioco Chardonnays (liocowine.com)
11. Three Twins ice cream (threetwinsicecream.com)
12. The Curry Up Now truck (www.curryupnow.com)
13. Sundrygoods whiskey jerky at Rye, 15 Romolo and Four Barrel
14. Cheesemonger: A Life on the Wedge, written by Rainbow Grocery owner Gordon Edgar
15. Goat or lamb belly at Betelnut (www.betelnutrestaurant.com)
16. Izakaya at Izakaya Sozai
17. Nombe (nombesf.com)

Best of Arts, Entertainment & Nightlife

Full descriptions of our Arts, Entertainment & Nightlife picks here.

 18. The Outside Lands Music Festival (sfoutsidelands.com)
19. Films at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (ybca.org)
20. Harlot (hartlotsf.com)
21. The Thrillpeddlers theater troup (thrillpeddlers.com)
22. The Hubba Hubba Revue burlesque show (Facebook.com/hubbahubbarevue)
23. Wallpaper (myspace.com/wallpaper)
24. The Knockout SF (theknockoutsf.com)
25. Mortified at the Make Out Room (makeoutroom.com)
26. Post:Ballet dance company (postballet.org)
27. Comedian W. Kamau Bell (wkamaubell.com)
28. San Francisco Opera's Die Walkure (The Valkyrie) (sfopera.com)
29. Booksmith (booksmith.com)
30. The Adobe Books Backroom Gallery (adobebooksbackroomgallery.blogspot.com)
31. Reggae Gold SF at Club Six and the Endup (reggaegoldsf.com)
32. OCSC Sailing's Wednesday Night Sail (ocscsailing.com)
33. Happy hours at Tropisueno and Amber India (tropisueno.com, amber-india.com)
34. The Splinters (myspace.com/thesplintersband)

Best of the Day

Full descriptions of our Day picks here.

35. The House of Air trampoline park (houseofairsf.com)
36. SPUR (spur.org)
37. Workshop SF (workshopsf.org)
38. Thank Dog Boot Camp (thankdogbootcamp.com)
39. The SF Arts Commission's Art in Storefronts (sfartscommission.org)
40. Judah between 45th and 46th street (Outerlands, General Store, Trouble Coffee, Mollusk Surf Shop)
41. Fetch personal concierge service (sffetch.com)
42. The new Hayes Valley playground
43. BAD RAP dog education, rescue and training (badrap.org)
44. Zoc Doc's online doctor finder (zocdoc.com)
45. Personal training with Jakki Flaherty at Presidio Fitness (presidiofitness.com)
46. The outdoor seating area at Mojo Bicycle Cafe in NoPa (mojobicyclecafe.com)
47. Crabbing demonstrations at Fort Point pier (nps.gov)
48. Beekeeping classes at Her Majesty's Secret Beekeeper (hmsbeekeeper.com)
49. Noontime concerts at Old St. Mary's Cathedral for $5 (noontimeconcerts.org)
50. Yoga classes at Grace Cathedral (labyrinthyoga.com)
51. TransportedSF traveling parties (transportedsf.com)
52. the city's oldest photo booth at Rayko Photo Center (raykophoto.com)

The Best of Home+Design

Full descriptions of our Home + Design picks here.

53. Paste's paper collages (pastesf.com)
54. Kids table lamps from Jennifer Sitko of 2modern (2modern.com)
55. The nonprofit Architecture for Humanity (architectureforhumanity.org)
56. The New People Mall (newpeopleworld.com)
57. Discounted high-end housewares at One Kings Lane (onekingslane.com)
58. Urban Mercantile in the San Francisco Design Center (urbanmercantile.com)
59. General Store (visitgeneralstore.com)
60. Unhappyhipsters.com
61. Rare Device (raredevice.net)
62. Studiopatro kitchen towels (studiopatro.com)
63. The iPad (apple.com)
64. The Art in a Box project (artinabox.net)
65. Vintage finds at Russian Hill's Homme (homme.1stdibs.com)
66. Letterpress classes at Ferney Art Studios (jordanferney.blogspot.com)
67. The modern-day crafts co-op, Prairie Collective (smallstump.blogspot.com)
68. Flowers from the Cutting Garden at Flora Grubb (floragrubb.com/cutting)
69. The virtual yard sale at Le Petite Flea (etsy.com/shop/lapetiteflea)

The Best of Fashion + Beauty

Full descriptions of our Fashion + Beauty picks here.

 70. Kate Ellen Metals jewelry (kateellenmetals.com)
71. Hair lightening at Kim Vo Salon (kimvo.com)
72. Mulholland luxury leather (mulholandsf.com)
73. Swimwear at Zoe Bikini (zoebikini.com)
74. Rare Eyeware's vintage sunglasses (rareeyewear.com)
75. High end secondhand at Bianca Starr (biancastarr.blogspot.com)
76. The Bell Jar (and its website)
77. The world's only Tropical Rainforest spa treatment room at Tru (truspa.com)
78. Haight Street Nails (thehaightstreetnails.com)
79. Petite Lingerie at Lula Lu (lulalu.com)
80. Joseph Cozza Salon (josephcozzasalon.com)
81. Lower Haight boutique and gallery, Revolver (revolversf.com)
82. Global Action Through Fashion (globalactionthroughfashion.org)
83. Facials at Stork's Skin Therapy (storkskintherapy.com)
84. NUDE Probiotic Skincare (nudeskincare.com)
85. The menswear collection, Black Fleece (brooksbrothers.com/blackfleece.process)
86. Blow outs at Blo Blow Dry Bar (blomedry.com)
87. Jackson Square's La Boutique (laboutique-galerie.com)