#StayHome: 'Shelter in Place' ordered for six San Francisco Bay Area counties


Listen up, residents of San Francisco, Santa Clara, San Mateo, Alameda, Marin, and Contra Costa counties: The moment many of us have anticipated has arrived.

On Monday at noon, Mayor London Breed tweeted: "Effective at midnight, San Francisco will require people to stay home except for essential needs."

That means all non-essential events of every size will be canceled; outings must be limited to trips to the store for necessary supplies, to the doctor for essential healthcare, and to provide aid for friends and family who are ill. Restaurants will be closed for dining in, offering takeout and delivery only; elective and routine medical visits should be canceled; and everyone who is not a government employee, healthcare provider, or staffer essential to public transit, groceries, and the like will be working from home.

"Necessary government functions & essential stores will remain open," Breed continued. The San Francisco Chronicle has more details.

Find our list of local restaurants offering takeout and delivery here. We will be updating it regularly to include restaurants in the six affected counties. To suggest your favorite restaurant, leave a comment on our Facebook page. We are also encouraging Bay Area residents to support the small businesses whose bottom lines are already reeling in light of closures. If you're a small local business, head over to Instagram and share a link to your online store with the hashtag #7x7shopslocal so we can share it with our audience.

Related Articles
Now Playing at SF Symphony
View this profile on Instagram

7x7 (@7x7bayarea) • Instagram photos and videos

From Our Partners