100 Things to Eat in San Francisco Before You Die

By

The Big Eat 2016 is here! This year's list is guaranteed to make your mouths water with 35 delectable new dishes—including an insanely luscious lobster roll, our new favorite ramen, and the already culty fries at America's best new restaurant. As always, the list promises a smattering of San Francisco's absolute hottest and most beloved restaurants, with a variety of meats, sweets, sides, and veggies at every price point and in every neighborhood of San Francisco.

So without further ado, we'll leave you to salivate over the photos of all our 100 dishes to eat in San Francisco before you die.

(*Denotes dishes new to the 2016 list.)

1. Pickled French fries,* Al's Place // (Mission) alsplacesf.com

2. Mamak laksa, Azalina's // (Civic Center) azalinas.com

3. Trout tostada,* Cala // (Civic Center) calarestaurant.com

4. Greek yogurt with baklava crumbles and syrup, Souvla // (Hayes Valley); souvlasf.com

5. Shigoku Oysters with preserved Meyer lemon,* Petit Crenn // (Hayes Valley) petitcrenn.com

6. Haunch & flagon,* Whitechapel // (Tenderloin) whitechapelsf.com

7. Fried onioncakes, House of Nanking // (Chinatown) houseofnanking.net

8. Dark chocolate brownie, Marla Bakery // (Outer Richmond) marlabakery.com

9. Chilled squid ink pasta,* Octavia // (Pac Heights) octavia-sf.com

10. Traditional egg hopper,* 1601 Bar & Kitchen // (SoMa) 1601sf.com

11. Rabbit pappardelle, Flour + Water // (Mission) flourandwater.com

12. Organic Pop Tarts (seasonal), Foreign Cinema // (Mission) foreigncinema.com

13. Americana burger, Causwells // (Marina) causwells.com

14. Jane bread with butter, Huxley // (TenderNob) huxleysf.com

15. Beyond ramen,* Orenchi Beyond // (Mission) orenchi-beyond.com

16. Sicilian-style pizza, Tony's Pizza Napoletana // (North Beach) tonyspizzanapoletana.com

17. Special breakfast sandwich, Devil's Teeth Baking Co. // (Outer Sunset) devilsteethbakingcompany.com

18. Super carnitas dorado burrito, La Taqueria // (Mission) 415-285-7117

19. Raviolo di ricotta, Cotogna // (Jackson Square) cotognasf.com

20. Fugazetta empanada, El Porteño // (Embarcadero) elportenosf.com

21. Whipped scrambled eggs, Lazy Bear // (Mission) lazybearsf.com

22. Fresh baked cookies,* Spruce // (Presidio Heights) sprucesf.com

23. Brisket, 4505 Burgers & BBQ // (Western Addition) 4505meats.com

24. Pad kee mao, Kin Khao // (Union Square) kinkhao.com

25. Ham and cheese sandwich,* B. On The Go // (Pac Heights) b-onthego.com

26. Meatballs (Mondays only),* A16 // (Marina) a16sf.com

27. Baked pork buns, Hong Kong Lounge 2 // (Inner Richmond) hongkonglounge2.com

28. Blue Bottle Vietnamese coffee,* Humphry Slocombe // (Embarcadero) humphryslocombe.com

29. Xiao long bao, Kingdom of Dumpling // (Parkside) kingofchinesedumpling.com

30. "Happy spoon" oyster,* Pabu // (FiDi) pabuizakaya.com

31. Chips and salsa, Papalote // (Mission) papalote-sf.com

32. Wagyu nigiri, Kusakabe // (Jackson Square) kusakabe-sf.com

33. English pea pancakes,* Marlowe // (SoMa) marlowesf.com

34. House-made spam (off-menu),* Liholiho Yacht Club // (TenderNob) liholihoyachtclub.com

35. Pretzel, Biergarten // (Hayes Valley) biergartensf.com

36. El de la Foto, Los Shucos // (Mission) losshucos.com

37. Roti (seasonal), The Progress // (Western Addition) theprogress-sf.com

38. Miso asari clams, ICHI Sushi + Ni Bar // (Bernal Heights); ichisushi.com

39. Butter croissant*, Neighbor Bakehouse // (Dogpatch) neighborsf.com

40. Afternoon Snack, Bi-Rite Creamery // (Mission) biritecreamery.com

41. Garlic quail, Lers Ros // (Tenderloin) lersros.com

42. Collard greens,* Black Bark BBQ // (Fillmore) blackbarkbbq.com

43. Basteeya,* Mourad // (SoMa) mouradsf.com

44. Roasted chicken for two, Tosca Cafe // (North Beach) toscacafesf.com

45. Tea leaf salad, Burma Superstar // (Inner Richmond) burmasuperstar.com

46. Eggs-in-jail, Outerlands // (Outer Sunset) outerlandssf.com

47. Okonomiyaki, Namu Gaji // (Mission) namusf.com

48. Quesadilla roja con chicharrón, Nopalito // (Inner Sunset) nopalitosf.com

49. Cinnamon toast and a coconut, Trouble Coffee // (Bayview)

50. Pintxo flight,* Aatxe // (Upper Market) aatxesf.com

51. Smoked deviled eggs, Park Tavern // (North Beach) parktavernsf.com

52. Seasonal mushroom tartlet, Piperade // (Embarcadero) piperade.com

53. Caviar, Jardiniere // (Hayes Valley) jardiniere.com

54. Any pizza,* Del Popolo // (Nob Hill) delpopolosf.com

55. Tonnarelli cacio e pepe, Locanda // (Mission) locandasf.com

56. Oyster po' boy, Hog Island Oyster Co. // (Embarcadero) hogislandoysters.com

57. Bagel*, Wise Sons Bagel + Bakery // (Fillmore) wisesonsdeli.com

58. Peking duck, R&G Lounge // (Chinatown) rnglounge.com

59. Cruffin,* Mr. Holmes Bakehouse // (Tenderloin) mrholmesbakehouse.com

60. Escargot,* Volta // (SoMa) voltasf.com

61. Panko avocado taco, Lóló // (Mission) lolosf.com

62. Grilled cheese, Cockscomb // (SoMa) cockscombsf.com

63. Leo's Louie,* Leo's Luxury Oyster Bar // (FiDi) leossf.com

64. Zucchini cakes, Kokkari // (Jackson Square) kokkari.com

65. Chinatown duck sliders, Maven // (Lower Haight) maven-sf.com

66. Grilled pork bánh mì,* Dinosaurs // (Upper Market) dinosaursrestaurant.com

67. Lemon ricotta pancakes*, Plow // (Potrero) eatatplow.com

68. Sweetbreads, Monsieur Benjamin // (Hayes Valley) monsieurbenjamin.com

69. Concept dinners,* Michael Mina Test Kitchen // (Marina) michaelmina.net

70. Hot fudge sundae, The Ice Cream Bar and Soda Fountain // (Cole Valley) theicecreambarsf.com

71. Double smash burger,* Scotland Yard // (Marina) scotlandyardsf.com

72. Custard French toast, Nopa // (Western Addition) nopasf.com

73. Smoked linguine with clam, bacon, San Marzano tomato, and wild arugula pesto, ​SPQR // (Lower Pac Heights) spqrsf.com

74. Hurricane popcorn & pig ears, Pink Zebra // (Mission) pinkzebrasf.com

75. Blistered green beans,* Hawker Fare // (Mission) hawkerfare.com

76. Swedish meatballs, Pläj // (Hayes Valley) plajrestaurant.com

77. The Rebel Within, Craftsman and Wolves // (Mission) craftsman-wolves.com

78. Lamb scrumpets, The Cavalier // (SoMa) thecavaliersf.com

79. Any yakitori,* Rintaro // (Mission) izakayarintaro.com

80. Potato knish, 20th Century Cafe // (Hayes Valley) 20thcenturycafe.com

81. Roasted chicken, The Commissary // (Presidio) thecommissarysf.com

82. Loaf of bread, Tartine Bakery // (Mission) tartinebakery.com

83. Cheese cart,* Quince // (Jackson Square) quincerestaurant.com

84. Lumberjack cake, Frances // (Castro) frances-sf.com

85. Crispy imperial rolls, The Slanted Door // (Embarcadero) slanteddoor.com

86. Pork cheddar sausage, Smokestack // (Dogpatch) magnoliasmokestack.com

87. Pierna enchilada, La Torta Gorda // (Mission) latortagorda.net

88. C.A. state bird with provisions, State Bird Provisions // (Western Addition) statebirdsf.com

89. $35 prix fixe + pasta,* Trestle // (Jackson Square) trestlesf.com

90. Dried porcini doughnuts, Rich Table // (Hayes Valley) richtablesf.com

91. Potato confit with clam bagna cauda*, The Perennial // (SoMa) theperennialsf.com

92. Salted fish and minced pork rice in clay pot, Utopia Cafe // (Chinatown) utopiacafechinatown.com

93. Charcuterie board, Trou Normand // (SoMa) trounormandsf.com

94. Frozen custard with egg yolk caramel, Fog City // (Embarcadero) fogcitysf.com

95. Seafood cioppino, Tadich Grill // (FiDi) tadichgrill.com

96. Toast,* The Mill // (Western Addition) themillsf.com

97. Corn dog on the green, Urban Putt // (Mission) urbanputt.com

98. Beef tartare, Belcampo Meat Co. // (Nob Hill) belcampo.com

99. Tasting Menu,* Coi // (North Beach) coirestaurant.com

100. Chili,* Old Bus Tavern // (Bernal Heights) oldbustavern.com

(Please note that restaurant menus rotate frequently and some dishes may be seasonal.)

Show Comments ()

DON'T MISS A BAY AREA BEAT! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER.

Follow Us On